Gonzaga pop star to perform in Seattle

Gonzaga sophomore JG—or Joe Gooding—will be performing live at Studio 7 in  downtown Seattle Tuesday night, at around 8:50 p.m. JG will be performing alongside other bands and performers of varying genres, including indie, jazz, acoustic and more.

“This will be my first time performing at a venue like this,” JG said.

JG has previously performed with the Gonzaga University choir as a solo classical baritone, as well as his high school’s talent show.

According to JG, he has spent about a month preparing for this show and has a 20-minute set in which to showcase his singing talent. JG’s setlist includes three original songs, including “Mr. Right (Darling),” as well as covers of Lana Del Rey’s “Video Games” and Britney Spears’ “Hold it Against Me.”

“I wanted to sing a Britney Spears song as tribute to my very first performance where I sung ‘Baby One More Time,’” JG said.

JG said that performing live in stage is something that he loves doing, and that he is “super excited” for the show.

“I think my fans will see and hear the new JG I’ve been hyping up so much. My vocals are improving so much with being in vocal lessons and participating in choir,” JG said. “I’m really excited to put on a fun show that all ages can enjoy, and I’m hoping this will be the first of many live shows I can put on. Maybe in the next couple of years I will be performing in Madison Square Garden,” JG said.

So, if you’re in the Seattle area for spring break, come support Gonzaga’s most talked about pop star.

Tickets are available here.

Also, check out JG’s Facebook page for additional information.

Photo by Jake Kelly

By Rachel Garcia

Categories: Lifestyle

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

