GU Style Spotlight: Joe Gooding By Katie Mincin

Today I talked to senior, Joe Gooding.
Joe had lots to say about his personal fashion trends, and his opinions on new styles this year.

Katie-Can you tell me a little about you’re your personal style?
Joe- My personal style changes from day to day. I like following trends and I really study fashion on my own time. But if I could pin it down I would say it is a little bit of urban and a little bit of preppy.

Katie- What article of clothing could you not live without?
Joe-I would say my new Marc Jacobs Sweater. I do not think anyone will be prying that out of my hands anytime soon. I got it in New York for New Year’s. It was one of the first designer things I had bought.

JOEGOODING

Katie- Walk me through the outfit you are wearing now.
Joe-
Zara Coated Denim pants.
Baseball quarter sleeve: My friend Courtney bought me this one. I love the galaxy pocket because it is a little pop of unexpected.
Nikes: Nike Athletic Shoes with an urban outfit is very on trend right now. And I do not have to spend more money on shoes!
I am also wearing a Forever 21 baseball cap that says NYC on it and a Forever 21 jacket.

Katie- Where is your favorite place to shop?
Joe- Nordstrom! Nordstrom has great customer service. It has a blend of luxury and accessibility. It is not completely out of reach. You can find some stuff that looks great but is not terribly expensive. I am from Seattle where the flagship store is.

Katie- What is your favorite winter style you are seeing on campus this semester?
Joe- For girls….I like the chunky knit sweater with a pair of faux leather leggings and booties. It is a suave way to be comfy. For guys I like to see structured jackets. I like something different form the typical North Face.

Katie- What is your favorite season to dress up for?
Joe- I like dressing up for spring. In spring you can get away with more color and you can get away with more exciting prints.

Katie- What or who is your fashion inspiration?
David Beckham and Zac Efron. Both have a good sense of style

Katie- What is the best thing you have ever worn?
Joe-My new Marc Jacobs sweater, and a jacket. You feel good when you wear nicer clothes. Everyone says it isn’t about what you wear but I am passionate about this art form—I feel like I appreciate it more than the average person. I appreciate it because of the design aspect.

Check out Joe’s blog at: http://joegooding.com/blog/

Thanks for sitting down and talking with GU Style Spotlight, Joe! If you are a fashionista on campus, or know of anyone who would be interested in talking fashion with us, feel free to reach out to the GUBB staff and we would love to meet with you.

Categories: Campus Life, Lifestyle

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

