Ben Yaks Back – 1/28

For some reason, the app Yik Yak has been insanely popular at GU. Yik Yak is an anonymous Twitter feed where people can say whatever they want, which can prompt some inappropriate content. Yik Yak also uses location services on your phone, so the Yaks you see are guaranteed to be from people in your area.

This app is funny to me because there would be comments about how good frozen yogurt is in between a giant string of complaints about one thing or another. It’s fascinating.

“What would happen if you put a werewolf on the moon? Probably the best question ever asked.”

Reaction GIF: facepalm, Wil Wheaton, Wesley Crusher, Star Trek

When the Ghostbusters dared to ask, “Who you gonna call?”, it fell short of this. When the Killers questioned, “Are we human, or are we dancer?” it was in no comparison to this. When Iggy Azalea DARED to rock societal norms and question, “Who dat, who dat?” (followed by her own answer of I-G-G-Y), that was stupid compared to this question about werewolves on the moon. And to answer your self proclaimed “best question ever asked,” the answer is you’d get a permanent werewolf that would more than likely be without a spacesuit and die. So the answer to the best question ever told is a dead animal.

“I like my women like I like my passwords: strong”

Reaction GIF: flirting, Miguel, The Road to El Dorado

I like my women how I like my passwords: confusing and forgetting which one is which.

 

“Philosophy is not fire”

https://i0.wp.com/www.reactiongifs.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/duh.gif

Philosophy is not a lot of things, friend. Or is it? Think about it this way. Fire is an early man’s way of survival, communication and in a way, understanding. It was viewed as miraculous and instrumental in the way the modern man performed every day tasks. Philosophy does the same thing to the modern intellectual. Both are the basis of how lives are lead, the foundation of modern society and things that I don’t like getting too close to.

 

“I swear every girl in my media law class is a 10”

https://i0.wp.com/media.giphy.com/media/LFctgMN2VUc/giphy.gif

I swear every girl in my fifth grade class was 10.

 

“Nothing feels worse than a broken heart”

https://i1.wp.com/fabfunny.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/funny-gifs-when-you-stub-your-toe.gif

Have you ever slammed your toe against a coffee table? Like, really really hard? I’ve done it a bunch and I think that’s WAY worse than having your hopes and dreams shattered. Fun fact: the GIF above is from when Harry Potter famously stubbed his toe really hard during the movie.

 

“I’m starting to enjoy and internalize the things I’m learning from homework. Someone get my high school self in here so he can call me a derogatory slur.”

https://librarybonanza.files.wordpress.com/2014/08/happy-to-read.gif?w=630

That’s pretty insane that the stuff you’re doing for class is learning.

 

“Sometimes when people say dumb [stuff] I like to stare into an imaginary camera like I’m on The Office”

the office animated GIF

That’s essentially what I do when I scroll through Yik Yak.

 

“IMPEACH KENNEL BOARD”

Reaction GIF: laugh, are you kidding me?, David Tennant

Jeez Louise! I don’t get why Kennel Board gets so much heat, especially on Yik Yak. Also, I don’t think you know how impeachment works. Impeachment can happen due to “treason, bribery, or other high crimes and misdemeanors.” And only for one person, not a whole board of people. Good luck taking this one to court, Yik Yak meanie.

 

“I may not be in the position to be giving life advice, but for the love of god don’t download tinder.”

thumbs up animated GIF

So you’re saying NOT to download the dating app where you superficially decide if you want to talk to someone based on looks? And to think, that’s how I imagined all great love stories began…

 

Categories: Yak Back

Tags:

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

