GU Fashion Spotlight: Sarah Hillman

Simple, classic and aesthetically pleasing are some of the words you could use to describe this spotlight’s style. She may put attention to detail into balancing books with her Accounting major and constructing business plans with her Hogan Entrepreneurial Leadership minor, but this attention to detail also carries over to her hemlines and color choices. In our interview, we talk about her fashion tips that work for any college budget, NY Fashion Week inspiration and retail recommendations for Vegas-goers and non Vegas-goers alike. From Tacoma, Washington, this is Sarah Hillman:

sarah1

SO: How would you describe your usual everyday style/look?

SH: I would say pretty simple. Like classic lines and pretty static colors—just like monochromatic, not a lot of prints.

 

SO: …and how would your friends describe your style?

SH: Probably pretty pulled together.

 

SO: Walk me through the outfit you are wearing now.

SH: I like high necklines and short hemlines. It’s a good balance. I [also] think it’s pretty flattering to do tighter sleeves and boxier cuts, and also more comfortable. And plain shoes that are easy to slip on. They’re comfortable to walk in. And I have to do some big heavy coat because I’m always cold!

Skirt: H&M

Coat: Zara

sarah2

Shirt: Equipment

Shoes: This really cool website called, “OfAKind.” It’s just like little artists or people who do small production stuff and will [make] 50, 100 or 200 of a specific, unique design to kind of get their name out there. So it’s cool, they feature smaller designers. They do jewelry and home stuff as well as clothes.

shoes

SO: It sounds like it could be comparable to Etsy?

SH: Sort of, but they don’t update very often; someone will make a bracelet and there will [only] be 50 and once it sells out it’s gone!

 

SO: You mentioned the word “comfort” a few times when describing your outfit…is this something you take into account often?

SH: I definitely will look for comfort and flattering.

 

SO: If your closet was burning down, what would be the one item you would rescue?

SH: When I was in Florence, I splurged and got a really nice purse to take to work so it’s definitely sentimental from Florence times. I got it at Luisaviaroma, a department store headquartered in Florence; their flagship is right next to the Duomo. It’s kind of like a Nordstrom. I liked that they sponsored a lot of fashion events. I [also] follow them on Instagram.

luisa_via_roma_01

LuisaViaRoma-store-Florence-Italy

img-1896-895719_0x440

 

SO: Was your style influenced at all when you went to Florence?

SH: Yeah, definitely because that was the most limited I’ve been choices-wise. I tried to stick so hard to bringing like, one pair of jeans and three sweaters, so I tried to get very creative mixing and matching. Because here, I drove over pretty much my car with my entire closet so it was the first real restriction…

 

SO: What is your most memorable childhood outfit?

SH: When I was little, my mom would always put me into bright colored cotton leggings and oversized hand-me-down sweatshirts. We had mother-daughter matching ones that had a big sunflower on it.

 

SO: If you could only shop at one clothing store for the rest of your life, where would it be?

SH: This is terrible—it would probably be the Spokane (Nordstrom) Rack. I have found outrageous deals there! Way more so than any other Rack on the west side of the state. As much as I love shopping for clothes, I don’t do it very frequently and I enjoy it a lot more if I can find a good deal. So I love the rush of the Rack.

 

SO: What is your go-to color?

SH: Definitely navy. Pretty much my whole closet is like a spectrum of navy…and white, black and grey.

 

SO: What or whom do you draw fashion inspiration from?

SH: Probably a couple Instagrams that I follow. “Damsel in Dior” is one of them. Or the J. Crew catalogues/look books.

Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 4.44.10 PM

Screen Shot 2015-02-26 at 4.43.14 PM

 

SO: What is your favorite student style you are seeing on campus this semester?

SH: Probably the big, oversized jackets. Or structured jackets. I’d say kinda like [the one I’m wearing now], I definitely got this from seeing people wearing coats like it with no collar, shoulders are a little big, and it hits below your waist or mid thigh.

 

SO: If you could choose any trend to make a comeback on campus this coming spring, what would it be?

SH: I don’t know if it’s gonna’ come to Gonzaga, but I feel like I’ve seen a lot of the drop-waist cut, baggier dresses with a ruffle on the edge. Or the kind of high neck, sleeveless top or dress cut is probably gonna’ start infiltrating campus.

 

SO: New York Fashion Week or Portland Fashion Week? (Did you stay up-to-date with NY Fashion week 2015?)

SH: New York. I followed NY Times Fashion Instagram so pretty much that’s my entire feed the past two weeks.

 

SO: What left the biggest impression on you?

SH: I’d say the light colors. I’m definitely thinking of getting a light and bright dress for graduation!

 

SO: For those of us going to Vegas (and are a little behind in the outfit game…), do you have any recommendations of where to go/online retail stores?

SH: Definitely Forever 21 at the Valley, I ended up getting most of my stuff there. I have to hem some stuff and I might cut the back open of this dress, it adds a little bit of an extra touch. It’s probably a little pricier for Vegas, but I’d definitely look at ShopBop.com and Revolve clothing for ideas and cuts. They’re just massive retailers, with [upwards of] 15 pages of dresses to flip through!

 

SO: Any final fashion tips?

SH: It’s definitely worth it to invest in key pieces—for trends or even just cheap event clothing. It’s also definitely worth it to alter it a little bit to make it look more expensive and unique. If you wanna get something hemmed or taken in, it’s no more than $20 at Nordstrom!

 

Thanks for sitting down and talking with GU Style Spotlight, Sarah! If you are a fashionista on campus…trend-setter… trend-follower…anyone who takes a liking to what they put on when they wake up in the morning…or know of anyone who would be interested in talking fashion with us, we invite you to reach out to the GUBB staff and we would love to sit down with you!

Categories: GU Style Spotlight

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

