GU Fashion Spotlight: Mary Jenkins

Today I got the chance to sit down with freshman psychology major, Mary Jenkins, whose effortless fashion makes a bold statement. You may see her on any given day rockin’ her signature yellow high-tops, a pair of baggy overalls, or some piece of clothing she stole from her mom. We cover everything from spring trends to blinged out sneakers to what fashion pieces she has worn for over three years (…and no, it’s not dirty socks).

11063191_10152875459003432_359326904_n

SO: Can you describe your usual everyday style/look?

MJ: I wear overalls a lot, my clothes tend to be pretty baggy cause I’m so small. My clothes never fit me right so I’ve just learned to embrace it and wear my clothes baggy!

 

SO: How would your friends describe your style?

MJ: Probably like, 90’s-esque. I get compared to Rachel from FRIENDS a lot, which I think is awesome.

 

SO: Walk me through the outfit you are wearing now.

MJ: Overalls: My overalls are from Target.

11063386_10152875458608432_27612612_n

Shirt: The shirt is actually my mom’s. I take a lot of my mom’s clothes.

Flannel: This I actually got at the Spokane Value Village for basketball games, but I actually wear it a lot!

Shoes: My yellow converse I wear almost every day ‘cause yellow is my favorite color and I like converse! I found them and it was just fate. I had only seen them [in this color] online.

11072370_10152875458943432_946383201_n

Accessories: I wear a lot of bracelets. I don’t know why, it just turned into something I’ve done since sophomore year of high school. Some people give them to me, people who go on vacation and they’ll bring back a bracelet. I danced in high school so I had to take them off for competitions but I would just put them back on… I get a really gnarly tan in the summer!

11077416_10152875458903432_728257915_n

 

SO: Do you have any fashion rules that you’re a stickler on? Do you ever find yourself breaking any “typical fashion rules”?!

MJ: I’m a pretty firm believer that people [should] dress in what makes them feel most confident in their body. Sometimes I’ll look at people and I’ll be like, “I don’t know what you’re wearing but you look like you’re having a great time in it!” Do whatever you want, that’s my biggest thing.

 

SO: If you could inherit the wardrobe from any TV show, what show would it be?

MJ: Definitely FRIENDS. The clothes on that show are amazing. Mainly Rachel, but pretty much any of the clothes from the first couple seasons.

friends-cast-friends-19956673-2100-1700

 

SO: What key piece could you never live without?

MJ: Probably sneakers. I wear sneakers to everything. I hate wearing high heels so to prom, TOLO (our Sadie Hawkins), or anything formal really, I always wore Vans. I had a pair of sequin Vans so they looked kind of nicer I guess.

 

SO: How does color play a roll in your wardrobe? Any go-to colors?

MJ: Yellow. But I’m a pretty happy person so I normally wear brighter colors. I tend to express my feelings for the day with whatever colors I’m wearing.

 

SO: Was there a point in your life when you remember your style changing?

MJ: I know early years of high school, I always tried to wear whatever everyone else was wearing but I would always get really frustrated because since I’m so much smaller than everyone else, it never looked the same. I would always feel so awkward in the clothes because they looked so bad! So I think sophomore/junior year was when I just started wearing what I felt most comfortable in.

 

SO: In past fashion spotlights, we’ve talked about how fashion as a whole is taking strides towards androgyny. What would you say is your favorite gender-neutral trend on campus?

MJ: Probably flannels or thick sweaters. Both of those I think are great, yeah. I’ve never seen someone wear a bad flannel!

 

SO: What or who is your fashion inspiration/idol?

MJ: She’s a YouTuber, Zoe Sugg. She is just awesome. I don’t even know how to describe [her style], she wears the coolest clothes! She’s British too. She looks very British I guess is how I would describe her. I’ve been following her from very early high school. She just has a cool vibe.

 

SO: What is your favorite student spring style you are seeing on campus this semester?

MJ: I really like rompers and the loose shorts, the silk shorts with all the patterns. Love the flow.

 

SO: What are you most excited to debut in the warm weather?

MJ: I just like wearing shorts. Yeah.

 

SO: If you could choose any trend to make a comeback on campus, what would it be?

MJ: I saw something the other day that was 60’s fashion, and I think the 60’s had a lot of cool, bold stripes and stuff—super bold outfits. I thought they were cool. And Twiggy.

Screen Shot 2015-03-18 at 5.02.46 PM

Thanks for sitting down and talking with GU Style Spotlight, Mary! If you are a fashionista on campus…trend-setter… trend-follower…anyone who takes a liking to what they put on when they wake up in the morning…or know of anyone who would be interested in talking fashion with us, we invite you to reach out to the GUBB staff and we would love to sit down with you!

Categories: GU Style Spotlight

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

