8 Things in the Outside World I Will Forever Associate With Gonzaga University

As I’m sitting here writing my final blog post in in deep, deep denial that I’m graduating in a week and a half, it’s starting to hit me that once I leave campus, I’ll never be a Gonzaga student again. That sucks. Pretty bad. But the more I thought about it, the more I took solace in knowing that as far away from Gonzaga I get, some things in the outside world will forever remind me of the past four years.

The song “Zombie Nation”

https://i0.wp.com/beazag.gonzaga.edu/assets/image-gallery/gallery/gonzaga-life/_resampled/resizedimage265176-bballcrowdwithspike.jpg

Obviously. Although it’s one of the most famous sports pump-up songs in the world, there will always be a soft spot in my heart for “Zombie Nation” by Kernkraft 400.  It holds a spot on the holy disc of your elementary school years, Jock Jams, next to classics such as “Let’s Get Ready to Rumble!” or “Whoomp! There It Is.” It will always remind me of putting my arms around sweaty strangers, jumping off beat, and acting like I’m not more out of breath than the players.

Toyota Highlanders

https://i2.wp.com/images.gtcarlot.com/pictures/9719454.jpg

Ah, the Campo cars. I don’t think I’ll ever shake white Toyota Highlanders from their role as the transportation units for campus security. Memories of nervously walking past them in the neighborhood (even when I wasn’t doing anything) and asking for rides when it was too cold still happen when I see these cars, even when I’m nowhere near campus.

Panda Express

https://i2.wp.com/upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/thumb/8/85/Panda_Express_logo.svg/1024px-Panda_Express_logo.svg.png

For some, seeing Panda at the end of an abandoned strip mall or right off the freeway by a terrifying alley may just look like a fast Chinese alternative. Yeah, right. When I see that smug looking panda bear and the blatant lie that calls their food “gourmet,” all I can think about is my flex dollars running low and instantaneous regret. I’ve had too many late nights fueled by orange chicken and fried rice. But at the same time, I love it.

Gnats

https://i0.wp.com/www.elsberrydemocrat.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/06/GnatCloud.jpg

We all remember the half order of the plague of 2014, right? I don’t know of those little guys are coming back or not, but either way, I’ll always remember last fall when that seemed like all anybody could talk about. I hope I never encounter a swarm like this again, but if I do, I’m going to immediately think of my alma mater.

Flash mobs

https://i0.wp.com/www.rocmdance.com/uploads/1/7/5/7/17577755/7871172_orig.jpg

This school loves flash mobs. Friendship Friday, UMin, and almost every other large group have orchestrated some sort of flash mob or dance routine to do in Crosby. I think at one point it was every other day. Gonzaga loves flash mobs, I love Gonzaga, and now flash mobs are going to make me sad.

Zig zags

https://i0.wp.com/www.peanuts.com/wp-content/themes/desktop-theme-peanuts/images/characters/round/charliebrown.png

Thanks, Charlie Brown. Your shirt is going to push me into a nostalgia-fueled downward spiral whenever I see it because of the zig zag. The zig I don’t care as much about. But the word zag does.

Christmas music

https://i0.wp.com/www.doctormacro.com/Images/Crosby,%20Bing/Annex/Annex%20-%20Crosby,%20Bing_08.jpg

Fun fact, in case you’ve never been to campus or have just been really confused: Bing Crosby went to Gonzaga. I know, right? But every time that old fancy man sings around the holidays, all I’ll be able to think about is procrastinating in the student center named after him.

Golfing

https://i1.wp.com/colby70.org/images/Campus%20Golf.jpg

The popular sport of campus golf was huge here, until it was outlawed for making divots in the grass and becoming a safety hazard. But before that, some of my favorite off days were spent hitting a tennis ball with a golf club to makeshift “holes” around campus with my friends. Clarification: the girl in the photo is not me. I am a man.

Yellow cardigans

I know what you thought when you saw this. “That’s totally a Seton.” I know. Thanks to the Setons’ iconic fashion choices, every time I see a girl wearing a yellow sweater I’m going to associate her with them.

Categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

