Fashion Spotlight on: Janelle Bieker

A junior Psychology major from Alhambra, California, Janelle Bieker is a fashion risk taker. With a love for black clothing and unique statement pieces, she has an effortlessly chic style. Drawing from her LA roots, she aims to create outfits that are as comfortable as they are stylish. A self proclaimed run-aholic, she enjoys running all over Spokane, baking, and spending time with her friends. Find out what Janelle had to share about her approach to fashion.

FullSizeRender-4

LB: How would you describe your personal style?
JB: I think I would say like casual-comfort, but still kind of eclectic and taking risks sometimes depending on the situation.
LB: Is your style influenced at all by where you’re from?

JB: I think I’m influenced by LA in general just because going downtown, you see a wide range of people and styles and I think it definitely influences how I dress. And I am definitely influenced by my sister and her style.
LB: Tell me more about your sister!

JB: She takes a lot of fashion risks. She used to work for Nasty Gal and so she has a very European style. She wears a lot of black and she tends to layer things a lot and it always looks awesome. She just spent a few months in London so her style is very UK right now!
LB: What is your fashion philosophy in a statement?

JB: I would probably say wear what you’re comfortable in and what you feel proud walking around in. But, also try and take some risks and don’t be afraid to standout in your outfit.

LB: Has there ever been a point in your life when your style changed/evolved?

JB: My style changed in the beginning of high school. Even though i wore a uniform, I wanted to dress up on the weekend and my sister felt more comfortable telling me what I should and shouldn’t wear. Then when I came to college I brought my LA style with me, and I like to have unique clothes compared to other people. But definitely in high school on the weekends, I wanted to try different styles compared to what I wore in school.
LB: I know you studied in Florence! What were your favorite European fashion trends?

JB: I loved the shoes! I started wearing little booties more and I got a really good pair when I was in Venice. And I already wear a lot of black and Europeans wear lot of that so I definitely added even more black to my outfits.

FullSizeRender-7(Janelle at the top of the Duomo!)

LB: Tell me about the outfit you’re wearing now:
JB: Pants: They’re black urban outfitters jeans–high waisted– One of the best purchases ever because they can go with almost anything and they’re comfortable.

FullSizeRender-6
Shirt: My sister got it for me from Nasty Gal! I don’t wear too many colors, and this is light enough that it contrasts the jeans but its not drastic like a white shirt would be against the black pants.

FullSizeRender-2
Shoes: I got them from my sister! I like them cause I’ve started feeling more comfortable wearing little heels even though I’m so tall. And they’re strappy and kind of out there– I like that.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 3.09.52 PM
LB: What article of clothing in your opinion is essential to any wardrobe?

JB: I like to accessorize so i would say good shoes or a good pair of blue, black or basic jeans. I would do black cause you can put them with a lot of things. But accessories are also big for me.

LB: As far as accessories and jewelry, what are your go-to pieces?

JB: My rings are my go-to. And my necklaces. The rings add something interesting to outfits. And I know no one is going to have them since I’ve picked them up as I’ve traveled and gone places.
LB: How would you describe women’s fashion on Gonzaga’s campus?

JB: I would say it’s kind of casual. You see lots of comfort and casual, and I always see fall colors when I see people dressed up. The girls wear a lot of dresses— so they’re about dressing comfortably but going with the seasons.
LB: What fashion rules do you follow and which ones do you break?
JB: I don’t tend to wear blue and black together, or if it’s a darker blue and black I wouldn’t do that. I also wouldn’t wear the same color on top and bottom unless its all black. I always grew up thinking not to wear black and brown together either but if you do its right it can really work.
LB: Who is your fashion inspiration?
JB: My sister, definitely.

11707529_367276096801100_1776505232684595761_n(Janelle and her sister Lauren)

LB: What trends are you noticing right now?

JB: I’ve been told that jean skirts are coming back into fashion.. I don’t know how I feel about that. I can see how it works but i don’t think its gonna be one that I’ll wear.
LB: Favorite stores?

JB: Urban Outfitters! And I’ve started liking H&M more since I went to Europe. And Zara. I still shop Nasty Gal a lot but not quite as much as I used to, but I still have a lot of their pieces that I wear.
LB: What is your favorite season to dress for?

JB: Fall. I really like the darker fall colors and I feel like I can get away with wearing black more, so that’s good for me. It’s nice cause you can still wear lighter quarter sleeve tops and be comfy and not be cold. But mainly I just love the fall colors.
LB: What’s your favorite Spokane-Fall activity?

JB: Greenbluff!  I do really like running through the park during fall cause of the colors and trees… but definitely Greenbluff!

A major thank you to Janelle for letting us pick your brain about fashion! If you or anyone you know is interested in being interviewed for Fashion Spotlight please let us know! Email us at stupubs@zagmail.gonzaga.edu ! We’re always open to suggestions.

Categories: GU Style Spotlight

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

