Stairway Conversations: Christmas Trees

It’s that time of year again! The holiday season is right around the corner (or already here, depending on how you look at it), and in preparation Gonzaga had its first annual tree lighting ceremony. The turn out? Pretty great. The planning? Slightly confusing.

giphy

Date: December 1, 2015

Building: Hemmingson

Staircase: Rotunda Stairs

 

Overheard: “Where’d the first tree go?”

 

I ask that myself, too. I didn’t think there was anything wrong with it. I think it was over break when I got the first invitation to the tree lighting ceremony, and actually had some interest in going. Ever since they announced they would be putting a tree in the rotunda I’ve been eagerly waiting (as I’m sure many have).

giphy-1

Well, when we returned from break, there was already a tree in Hemmingson. I thought I had possibly missed something, but decided it wasn’t that big of a deal because, you know, there was a Christmas tree. The more decorations the better, I like to say.

Anyways, not a day later that tree disappeared. And, I think that I speak for the whole Gonzaga community when I say that there was a general feeling of sadness around campus.

I talked to a friend and they even said it, “made my day that much worse.” The level of seriousness they said that with was in question.

giphy

But, fortunately, those feelings didn’t stick around too long. After a brief period of confusion, the tree returned — not only one, but three.

So, once again, everything was going well with the decorating: the trees were in place, they were beginning to be decorated, and the rotunda was being prepared for the ceremony.

giphy-4

This is where there is a bit of a hitch.

I kind of wanted to go to the tree lighting, but I heard three different times it was happening. But on the day of the ceremony, I got a notification on my phone saying it was at 9:30 in the “Hammingson” (yes, really) center. Well, there were two problems here. First, the location. Second, the time.

Unfortunately, when I showed up at 9:30 after a meeting, I was terribly late. Needless to say I was rather disappointed, along with the couple of people I was with.

But, in the end, it was okay. I mean, there are three pretty big trees in Hemmingson! How could you be disappointed? Especially with the constant music.

giphy-1

Categories: Campus Life

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

