Bet You Didn’t Know – Spokane

Most people say that the best way to get to know Spokane is to stay here for a summer. This summer I had the luxury of living and working in Spokane. As a de-stresser I spent my downtime finding the secret treasures of Spokane. This is a once a month segment that will let you in on both the awesomeness of Spo-summers and the treasures of Spokane.


Screen Shot 2015-12-04 at 11.44.08 AM

Bet you didn’t know that Spokane could look this beautiful. It’s sad to say, but I have taken Spokane’s beauty for granted for the entirety of my Freshman, Sophomore, and Junior years at GU. I distinctly remember other students talking about “the lookout”freshman year. However, they’d get back to the dorm and talk about how the view wasn’t even that great. As a result, I had no motivation to head up to this lookout…until this summer.

At the end of a stressful day at my internship, a couple of my coworkers and I decided to go for a drive around Spokane. My coworker, who was born and raised here in Spokane, volunteered to drive. She’d been determined to change our mindset of Spokane being boring. As the sun was setting, she took us to this lookout just in time to see the city lights turning on.

Anyways, Zags, it’s that time of the year again, and by that, I don’t mean Christmas. I mean it’s that stressful time of the year again (with those last minute homework assignments, group projects, presentations, and prepping for finals week). I just thought this was the perfect time to share a great spot to de-stress. There’s something calming about looking at a city from a distance.

Happy Adventuring! 🙂

 

Categories: Bet You Didn't Know - Spokane, Campus Life, Lifestyle, Visuals

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

