Bet You Didn’t Know – Spokane

Most people say that the best way to get to know Spokane is to stay here for a summer. This summer I had the luxury of living and working in Spokane. As a de-stresser from work I spent my downtime finding the secret treasures of Spokane. This is a once a month segment that will let you in on both the awesomeness of Spo-summers and the treasures of Spokane.


Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 1.34.53 PM

So this month’s post is a bit different because I neither found this new treasure over the summer nor did I find it on my own. However, the story behind this gem had to be shared with my fellow zags.

We’re all familiar with New York’s Central Park, right? Well, I just found out that one of the architects of central park also designed a couple of parks right here in Spokane. One of them is Manito Park and Botanical Gardens (which I will return to in a later post). The other is Liberty Park. I’m not talking about the current Liberty Park. I’m talking about the Liberty Park that existed before the I-90 was built. Prior to the Department of Transportation buying the land to build I-90, Liberty Park was accustomed to the lifestyles of socialites of Spokane residents in the 1920s. It was 21 acres, had Spokane’s first pool (that turned into a skating rink during the winter), wide walk ways to link the many lawns and gardens in the park, and had a croquet court along with tennis courts as well as a baseball field. The picture below shows the layout of Liberty Park prior to the I-90 being built.

Screen Shot 2016-01-19 at 12.11.26 PM

Although we can’t visit the same park, we can still visit the ruins of the park of this amazing park. The ruins are the original basalt walls and pillars which guided the walk ways. You can even see the impression of where the pool used to be. If you’d like to visit the ruins, they are accessible from the intersection of Third Ave and Arthur St. I’ve already got this place bookmarked to visit during a sunset for the next time I’m looking to relax.

Happy Adventuring! 🙂

 

Categories: Bet You Didn't Know - Spokane

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply, If You'd Like

